First post from Fedora Core 4

This is my first post from Fedora Core 4. I grabbed the DVD ISO via bittorrent (I also seeded to a ration of 2:1, i.e. I served up twice as much DVD ISO goodness as I downloaded. Please do the same if you can). I then used the standard upgrade option to get my main desktop on point. It went so smoothly that I threw caution to the wind and did the same for my laptop (see my post on the upgrade from FC2 to FC3). It's looking good on the laptop as well. With the new kernel, 2.6.11-1.1369_FC4, my Centrino (Intel PRO/Wireless 2100) wireless worked right out of the box (unlike with FC3) and so did my Broadcomm B44 Ethernet driver (unlike with FC3). Now that's what software evolution is all about. Speaking of Evolution, this time it was a smaller jump, from 2.0.4 to 2.2.2, and it went schmoovely (unlike with FC3).

I'll keep reporting on my experiences as I go along, but at the moment, FC4 gets both my thumbs up. Besides giving me far fewer upgrade headaches than FC3, it looks a lot better and feels a lot snappier (the interminable boot process from FC3 seems to take half the time now).

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia