Media type for .xslt

Apache uses /etc/mime.types by default to map file extensions to Internet media types (IMTs), a.k.a. mime types. Unfortunately, for most Linux distros this file does not have an entry for .xslt, just .xsl (Fedora Core 3 doesn't even cover .dtd, though SuSE does). I prefer the .xslt, although I admit that preference is a crufty one, dating from before .fo because mt edominant extension for XSL- FO. I ended up hacking my IMT mapping to make sure it has:

text/xml                        xml dtd xsl xslt

I had to restart apache2 for this to take. I expect Apache caches the mappings.

Of course, in that move I sidestepped the whole debate over XML media types ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8), etc. In particular, I chose not to use application/xml or `application/xml +xslt`, in part because I was unsure of UA compatibility. And don't even ask about Microsoft's rogue text/xsl, lest I embark on a long polemic about corruption and pestilence.

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia