Moving to MetaWebLog API

Getting BloGTK to play nice with PyBlosxom
Updated xmlrpc_metaweblog.py for PyBlosxom, as used on Copia

Eric Gaumer and Ted Leung continue to be my main support in getting up to speed with blogging in general and PyBlosxom in particular. Thanks, guys. Always easier to go a-hacking when you have fellow hackers in the trenches with you.

So Eric's entry was a nudge to finally get MetaWebLog going on Copia. First of all, I applied his patch to BloGTK. Then I set up xmlrpc_metaweblog.py. But first I had to update it to follow my convention of storing entries within directories for each date. If anyone else would like to go with that convention, you might want to check out my custom version of xmlrpc_metaweblog.py, linked above.

I'll specify a trackback when posting, to see if it does the trick. I'll post a comment with the apparent results.

But first of all, I'll save my blog entry to a local file. I'll be doing that a lot while using BloGTK. It has exhibited a few weird, not-obviously-reproducible quirks from time to time that worry me a bit. Unfortunately, the author has apparently abandoned the 1.1. branch in favor of BloGTK2, so I guess there will be some more hacking to do. Lucky thing I know Python. Even luckier thing Eric's learning Python so rapidly. At least the BloGTK2 preview looks cleaner. I'll look forward to it.

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia
5 responses
Apparently the auto-trackback from BloGTK did not work, even after Eric Gaumer's patch.  The Wizbang tool works well, until I have more time to hack at BloGTK.



http://www.aylwardfamily.com/content/tbping.asp
Uche, do you have the autoping.py script working? The BloGTK hack is just to get the client to trigger autoping.py. I did you a few minor hacks in xmlrpc_metaweblog.py because of import issues on the autoping module. I'll try to post a more in depth explanation when I get a chance.
Uche, do you have the autoping.py script working? The BloGTK hack is just to get the client to trigger autoping.py. I did you a few minor hacks in xmlrpc_metaweblog.py because of import issues on the autoping module. I'll try to post a more in depth explanation when I get a chance.
A friend notified me this morning that my embedded RDF links were bad. I tried the lucene plugin this weekend and it munched my flavour files so I had to rewrite everything (no backups :-(). Anyway I used a stale cache to view the source and I missed some variables so all my RDF links were pointing to one post which obviously screwed things up. My point being, you may want to retry the autoping in BloGTK.
So I've got a few posts now and figured it might be wise to categorize things. I know PyBlosxom supports categories but BloGTK didn't seem to want any part of it. Diving into the code I noticed that for the most part, metaweblog support is missing or b