Serendip's 1920x1600 wallpapers

Maybe this is a big fat DUH! to everyone else, and it sure is to me in retrospect, but I'm not always able to find a nice diversity of fly wallpapers that suit my Dell Inspiron 8600's resolution of 1920x1600. Tonight I did a Google search because I'm looking for an LCD desktop monitor with that resolution. Lazily, I just Googled "1920x1200" and I was greeted with three really snazzy hits from Google images. One nature shot, one astronomical feature and one neat, abstract graphic. Clicking into Google images revealed a ton of really nice wallpaper options. Some are on the seamy side (I Google with SafeSearch off) but it's all good.

Meanwhile, I understand that 1920x1200 (WUXGA) TFT leads to crazy yield problems, but it is a bit of a drag that WSXGA (1680x1050) LCDs can be had for under $300 whereas the next step up sets you back a minimum of $700. I'll have to figure out how high to ride the exponential price/pixel curve.

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia