Wu-tang Flashback via Dave Chappelle

I was watching what I believe (so far - only having seen a handful of episodes) to be the funniest Dave Chappelle skit ever, 'Racial Draft', when the Chinese representative gets up to pick his representative and he paraphrases the original Wutang introduction:

From the slums of Shaolin, Wu-Tang Clan strikes again
The RZA, the GZA, Ol Dirty Bastard, Inspectah Deck, Raekwon the Chef
U-God, Ghost Face Killer and the Method Man

It Gave me chills and flashbacks to a much better time in music. I remember that track (Method Man) was the only song I ever heard from Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) at the time. I bought the tape (yes, back then I was rocking a tape walkman) not knowing exactly what to expect. The yellow, odd looking symbol and inset made me thing twice at the store. It ended up being one of my favorite purchases. My favorite of the clan has always been and always will be the GZA (aptly named the Genius). My favorite verse snippet (from Amplified Sample):

Guide this, strenuous as an arm wrestle
Move swift as light, a thousand years in one night
Inflight with insight
Everything i thought of, I saw it happen
Then I rose from the soil, the sun blackened
Then came rap czars, left tracks in scars
A pair of brightness of exploding stars
Give you goods to taste
No ingredients to trace
You'll remain stuck trying to figure the shape of space

(I had to make some corrections to the entry on The Original Hip-Hop Lyrics Archive)

Dave Chappelle's musical selection for guest appearances and Hip-hop skits (anyone seen the Turn my headphones up skit? Funny!) is perhaps the most obvious indication of how grounded he is, but when the Chinese delegation picked the Wutang in Racial Draft, I almost lost it. Yeah, perhaps border-line tasteless, but very well-written comedy.

[Chimezie Ogbuji]

via Copia
1 response
Thanks bro,



These morning memories are the reason I'd started Quotīdiēs.  The GZA is always killing it:



"The Wu is coming through; the outcome is critical

Fucking with my style is sort of like a miracle

On 34th Street.  In the square I'm herald

I game Ella.  The bitch caught a Fitz like Geraldine

Ferrarro, who's full of sorrow

'Cause the ho didn't win but the sun will still come out tomorrow

And shine shine shine like 409"



As his mates say:



"And the GZA the Genius is just a genius; he's the backbone of the whole joint... He the head.  Let's put it that way.  We form like Voltron and the GZA happens to be the head"



The GZA has always been the least appreciated member of the Clan.  But he knows his chess.  It's not just about the opening.  It's also about the end game.