"Create vector graphics in the browser with SVG"

"Create vector graphics in the browser with SVG"

Subtitle: Add two-dimensional vector graphics to your Web pages with the flexible, XML graphics format of Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) 1.1.
Synopsis: Learn step-by-step how to incorporate Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) into Web pages using real browser examples. SVG 1.1, an XML language for describing two-dimensional vector graphics, provides a practical and flexible graphics format in XML, despite the language's verbosity. Several browsers recently completed or announced built-in SVG support.

I was early to SVG, exploring it in this 2001 article, but in recent years I haven't had as much time as I'd have liked to work with this fun technology. I was able to put it to use in projects last year, and I think it's good timing, considering recent inroads SVG has been making in browser and mobile spaces. I've been lucky to have much fewer problems than Eric has. Most of what I've tried just works, and does so in Firefox, Opera 9 and MSIE/Adobe SVG Viewer.

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia