Holy xmlrpc_metaweblog barf

So the title of my last entry was "Holy trésor retrouvé!". Well, that's how you find yet another bug in xmlrpc_metaweblog.py. My first clue something was amiss when I clicked the "Post Entry" button in BloGTK was that I didn't get the usual, annoying pop-up to tell me the entry had been posted. I looked at the console from which I'd launched BloGTK and I saw:

Traceback (most recent call last):   File "/usr/bin/BloGTK", line 664, in prepPost
    post.getPostInfo(self.url, self.user, self.passwd, self.system, blogID, catID, title, body, checkPublish, self.mainGlade, self.useUTF, extended, excerpt, keywords, trackbackURLS, breaks, commentsAllow, pingsAllow)
  File "/usr/lib/blogtk/post.py", line 90, in getPostInfo
    metaweblogPost(url, user, passwd, blogID, title, body, publish, mainGlade, excerpt, extended, keywords)
  File "/usr/lib/blogtk/post.py", line 167, in metaweblogPost
    confirmPost(post, mainGlade)
  File "/usr/lib/blogtk/post.py", line 184, in confirmPost
    postLabel = gtk.Label("Entry Posted. ID = " + post)
TypeError: cannot concatenate 'str' and 'bool' objects

Which usually means xmlrpc_metaweblog.py got confused and reported its confusion with an XML-RPC response of 1. I checked the Copia site and found that the result was an empty file for the entry. I didn't find any useful tracebacks server-side, and I'm out of steam for the night, so no further debugging. I just pasted the entry into vi over ssh and all was well again.

P.S. Same problem with this entry when I tried to post it. WTF? xmlrpc_metaweblog.py should be stateless, so the presumed non-ASCII in title bug shouldn't have affected further posting, should it?

[Uche Ogbuji]

via Copia